Fresh Names Dominate Major Awards at 2017 Filmfest Hamburg

Up-and-coming filmmakers Chloé Zhao (pictured), Sean Baker, Eliza Hittman and Nele Wohlatz were among the award winners at the 25th edition of Hamburg Filmfest.

Chloe’s film The Rider, which wowed audiences both in Cannes and at the New York Film Festival, scored the main CICAE’s Art Cinema Award.

Tangerine director Sean Baker won the Filmfest Hamburg Critics Prize for his Willem Defoe-starring follow up The Florida Project and Nele Wohlatz picked up the newly created Sichtwechsel Prize for her semi-documentary The Future Perfect. The NDR Newcomer Prize for feature-length debuts or second features was handed out to Eliza Hittman for Beach Rats.