2017 Nicholl Screenwriting Fellowship Winners Announced

The winners of the 2017 Academy Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting competition were announced this week.

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences (AMPAS)-led screenwriting program, which has been around since the mid 1980s, is perhaps one of the industry’s main sources for new writing talent.

The 2017 winners are:

Vigil Chime, Bring Back Girl

SJ Inwards, Jellyfish Summer

Max Lance (pictured) and Jen Bailey, The Queen of Sleaze

KG Rockmaker, Last Days of Winter

Cesar Vitale, The Great Nothing

Each of the awardees receive a $35,000 prize towards career development to be presented at the Academy Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting Awards Presentation & Live Read on Thursday, November 2, at the Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills.

A total of 7,102 scripts were submitted for this year’s competition resulting in a short list of finalists from which the above winners were selected.